Vanity Fair profiles The eXile: "Gutsy...visceral...serious journalism...abusive, defamatory...poignant...paranoid...and right!"
MSNBC: Mark Ames and Yasha Levine
Broke the Koch Brothers' Takeover of America
Entertainment / Video Games / January 13, 2009

What is a zombie piñata? It’s when a zombie on a rooftop fires its tongue down at a victim, picks her up and and dangles her above the undead horde, which take turns clawing little pieces of meat candy out of her.

It’s also one of the most entertaining sights in Left 4 Dead, a first-person shooter from the makers of Half-Life and Portal (a.k.a. Valve Software). But before we join the horde and tear into the guts of this dangling, fleshy feast for ourselves, let us first sniff over the entirety of its delicious corpse. Left 4 Dead can be played offline by one or two players, and online with up to 8. Your online options include four player co-op, and eight player versus. That last bit is the tastiest of all, the brains of the operation.

But let’s not get ahead of ourselves. The single player mode is a perfect introduction. It’s intense, scary, and fun, yet only four hours long. So if, for some reason you can’t play Left 4 Dead online, you should rent it. In any case, you will find all four hours of the single player campaign thrilling thanks to the terrifying zombies, macabre settings, and awesome violence. The zombies really are the best part, especially the startlingly human poses of misery and woe they assume when they aren’t chasing and eating humans. You almost feel sorry for them.  Then they see you, and you feel sorry for yourself.

That’s because these are not your grandpa’s arthritic, shambling zombies – these are modern zombies. They’re fast, crazy, and most important, they are really fun to shoot, explode and set on fire. However, there are two missing elements that you should be prepared for – the zombies don’t bite, and as a result, there are no human to zombie transformations in the game. It’s a little weird being surrounded by a pack of punching zombies, but you’ll get over it. A shotgun helps.

Besides, the proletariat zombies are there for atmosphere more than challenge. Your real foes are the five special zombies: the smoker, the hunter, the boomer, the tank and the witch. If a hunter knocks you down, you’ll be helpless until someone either shoots it off of you, or you die. If a smoker wraps its tongue around you, well, see paragraph one of this review. And if a boomer barfs you on, a huge pack of zombies will emerge to help polish you off. The tank is just a big tough zombie that can take a lot of punishment, and the witch is a little girl zombie who wants to sit in a corner and cry about her fate. Unless, that is, you shoot her; then she’ll rip your face off.

Tag-team zombie action you control!

Those are your real enemies, and you can face them with friends online or off. But as cool as it is to survive the end of the world with three of your friends online, it’s even cooler to play as the zombies against four human players in an online versus match. That’s right, four human players attempt to make it through a whole level against boomers, smokers, and hunters that are played by real people. This is fun and terrifying as a human, because the difficulty jumps through the roof. As a zombie, it’s a completely unique and tactical experience. You can actually run plays! One person will say, “Okay xXDangerDuckXx, you puke on ’em, and when you do, I’ll grab one with my tongue. Psychosteve, when that happens, you leap on the one on my tongue, and start shredding.” Each side gets to take turns as the zombies and as the humans, and the games go by really fast. And yet, you’ll enjoy alternately chasing and fleeing from your opponents for hours and hours. This is an apocalypse with some staying power.

And that’s Left 4 Dead. It’s scary, cool, fast and ultra-violent. No, you never get to experience a human to zombie transformation first hand, but you do get to mow down legions of undead with assault rifles and machine guns, or turn the tables and assault humanity with your claws, your tongue, and your vomit. It’s packed full of meaty goodness, so if you see a copy on your next trip to the store, I recommend that you not leave it hanging.

Read more: , , , Hank Pazzo, Entertainment, Video Games

Got something to say to us? Then send us a letter.

Want us to stick around? Donate to The eXiled.

Twitter twerps can follow us at


Add your own

  • 1. Critic  |  January 13th, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    I thought left 4 dead was boring;

    The game play is extremely repetitive

    The environment is drab and none interactive

    The storyline and dialogue is extremely minimal.

    Oh and did I mention extremely repetitive game play! As a mod its a fun toy around for a little while, this gets old extremely fast..about 15 minutes to two hours.

    I wouldn’t recommend buying it, maybe just hire it out or play it at a lan.

  • 2. wengler  |  January 13th, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    @ #1

    Online gameplay is extremely varied. I just wish the versus option was available for the Death Toll and Dead Air campaigns.

    I can see how people may be dissatisfied with only the four playable special zombies, but the simplicity is a key to balanced gameplay. Since spawning of zombies and specials are random, no two times through are the same. Compare that with a game with scripted bosses and you will find that a game where the same thing happens at the same time is much more predictable and boring. This is a game meant to be played with people against people.

    No mention of the music? The customized music editor actually changes itself based on the behavior of the player. It is moody, dramatic, and always indicative of current or coming action and drama in the game. It is a landmark feature that is sure to be copied by others.

  • 3. FOARP  |  January 14th, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    This review is waaaaaaay too positive. Where is the old eXile pointless negativity and welt-angst that we know and love?

  • 4. Hank  |  January 15th, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    I love how the music swells nauseatingly right before a swarm of zombies bursts onto the scene like a toothy vomit tidal wave.

  • 5. Nestor  |  January 15th, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    A friend of mine is really into this, played a bit at his place and it’s not bad, I guess the multiplayer would be the deciding factor but I’m not really into online gaming.

    It’s certainly original though.

  • 6. Hank  |  January 16th, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    @FOARP You’re right, and I apologize. I forgot to forget to take my meds before I wrote this. Damn those uppers, they’re ruining my writing career!

  • 7. Hmmm  |  January 16th, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    One thing that needs mentioning is that this game was released horribly unfinished, which is pretty surprising given the fact that it was delayed for 2 years.

    It’s like the game was never tested outside of the office LAN. There are online games from 1999 with better online functionality. No server browser! In 2009!

    Then once the initial thrill wears off, you discover there are a crippling number of exploit and balance issues that are just now starting to be addressed. There are way too many boring cheesy tactics for the survivors to exploit (melee shoves), and some infected like the smoker are worthless.

    Maybe it’ll all be fixed by the time it goes down in price.

  • 8. critic enemy  |  January 16th, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    1st comment wat a load of rubbish this game i designed for online you idiot not so sad fucks like you can moan about it is too short for my solo experience get involved you loser the four player co op on expert is top draw good shit valve keep up the good work

  • 9. BW  |  January 16th, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    Before I bought it, I thought it would be a waste of money since there’s nothing too new about it. Zombies, co-up…etc. However, I found it really fun to play with real friends.
    By the way, about the “smoker commander”, if you were the hunter and you stole my prey, I would be happy to kick your butt. Haha. It would be better to tell the hunters to leap on the ones that come to rescue him.

  • 10. name  |  January 16th, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    your all idiots if you say this game sucks,stop playing with your cell phones and mario bros.its the need to have 4 guys that will sacrifice there own safety to save a comrad who’s down, what other game reguires you to play and stay close,no military game ever came close to this..NO RAMBOS will work here..if you go off alone you die alone.
    Its even better if 1 player seems to not be to good ,as they require a lil help more often like in real life not everyone is an expert

  • 11. Jim  |  January 16th, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    I love this game. I keep coming back to it again and again. Both single player and multi are worth the purchase. Not boring, not repetitive. Just fun.

  • 12. semtex  |  January 17th, 2009 at 12:27 am

    at the first poster, “critic”

    I would love to hear which games you play that you think are not repetitive

    Every FPS is the same, first person, and you shoot, and the subjects you are shooting changes by game but its essentially always the same, point, aim, shoot.

    I love the people who call L4D just a stupid repetitive mod, it was created and designed for the primary purpose of ONLINE PLAY, it was never designed to be a standalone single player game with an in-depth story, if you think that then please drink a bottle of bleach as soon as possible.

    If you haven’t noticed, with the exception of the Half Life series, Valve is all about the online multiplayer games. Team Fortress, Counter Strike, Counter-Strike Source, Team Deathmatch, Team Fortress 2.

    Please keep your retarded opinions to yourself, it makes my eyes hurt how dumb you are.

  • 13. Sven  |  January 17th, 2009 at 1:05 am

    @ poster number 7

    1. The server browser is hidden
    2. You are probably bad at infected, you run in by yourself and take a shotgun to your face, rage, and then claim the game is imbal
    3. Of course there are exploits in new online based games and like recently they will get patched , its pretty unrealistic to expect a Multiplayer game tackling hard genre that has been butchered before to have no kinks in it and to be honest i’m surprised valve managed to actually pull it off

    this game is worth buying especially on PC where patch’s and DLC will be availible through steam like all of valve’s games adding new features and tweaking/ ironing out the gameplay

  • 14. Nex  |  January 17th, 2009 at 1:58 am

    L4D is one of the most fun games I have ever played. Intense, fun and completely non repetitive!

    This game must be played online in versus mode. Thats where the whole fun is. And its best to play it with your 4 friends and work together as a real team.

    And there was an update for L4D recently loads of bugs where fixed. And also soon extra Downloadable Content is coming to L4D world.

  • 15. Huhu  |  January 17th, 2009 at 2:32 am

    Awesome game… for those who complain about exploits, there is already a patch.

  • 16. muzz  |  January 17th, 2009 at 2:44 am

    There actually is one human-to-zombie transformation (the “Church Survivor”, Death Toll Part 3), but you don’t actually see it :(

  • 17. the 0wn0r  |  January 17th, 2009 at 2:48 am

    If you don’t like this game, you obviously are NOT a real gamer. Go play some stupid grand theft auto 4 on your xbox, newbs!

  • 18. HookJ  |  January 17th, 2009 at 3:27 am

    Great Review, I agree with most of what has already been said, Left 4 Dead is a great game in my opinion because it’s always different, I don’t see how people can call it repetitive when it’s completely different everytime you play it. I must have played the campaigns online through the difficulties hundreds of times with my friends. Thank you Valve for another great game, definately worth buying if you love zombies.

  • 19. Jono  |  January 17th, 2009 at 4:06 am


  • 20. Required  |  January 17th, 2009 at 5:48 am

    Update news from Steam Client

    Friday, January 16 2008

    Left 4 Dead has been written up on The Exile (a Moscow-based newspaper, also home to Gary Brecher’s blog The War Nerd). Their take on L4D starts off strong: “What is a zombie piñata? It’s when a zombie on a rooftop fires its tongue down at a victim, picks her up and and dangles her above the undead horde, which take turns clawing little pieces of meat candy out of her.” Mmm. Meat candy.

    Thats how i got here…

  • 21. Julio  |  January 17th, 2009 at 6:42 am

    Left 4 Dead is a really good game. I tell all my friends to get it.

    Good review.

    Thank YOU!

  • 22. Znt  |  January 17th, 2009 at 8:01 am


    There’s an online server browser, just type “openserverbrowser” in console.

    The devs didn’t intend users to find a game through server browser though, that’s why there’re options for finding an online game or lobby.

  • 23. Freak  |  January 17th, 2009 at 8:46 am

    Well said Sven, this game is definitely balanced, and to #1, I bet the only video game you’ve ever played is Mario Bros. Who cares if the environment is drab, ITS AN APOCALYPSE! And if you think its repetitive, you’ve obviously never played Infected very well at all…

  • 24. don2dieu  |  January 17th, 2009 at 10:09 am

    hi all i have a patch that alows you to play versus on dead air and death toll oh yeahh
    and its dead simple!!
    just add me on steam my name is = don2dieu
    slt les mecs j ai un patch qui permet de jouer versus sur dead air et death toll et c est hyper simple
    ajoutez moi sur steam mon nom est =don2dieu

  • 25. Joe  |  January 17th, 2009 at 10:51 am

    Been playing Left4dead for 2/3 weeks or so now, got 35/51 achievments, it was really fun getting them.

    I think thats one of the funnest parts of it, Going out to try and get them, Dedicating yourself to pistols only for akimbo assassin, or tactical thinking in versus as the infected, making sure you cover all of them in boomer bile etc..

    I understand to an extent the guy saying its “boring”, After playing it for this long (not that long), in campaign and versus, I have already completed every map atleast 6 times in both…

    And now, i find myself when at desktop, with Left4Dead lined up with all of my other games, I dont choose it over the others as often as i used to…

    I think Versus, is definately going to keep this game going, But unless upgrades arrive, then not for as long as people would like, I think to keep this game going We need more maps, more enviroments, more surprises.

    And Achievments, I think get creative, with the achievments, make them more and more interesting, and stupid,

    At the end of an entire game, It lists who killed what, On bad days, i can kill only 3 smokers… 4 hunters… but on good days, 20+ of each, And I think quite a few achievments could be made from those kind of statistics, “Kill 20 hunters in one game”, “Deal 7000 damage to Tanks in an entire game”,

    Give people reasons to turn back, and face off with that tank taking your team mate down, Give people reasons to be on guard and protect team mates as much as possible.

    But, first priority is maps, 4 maps in an entire game is not much, fair enough each one has plenty of stages, so you could say its more like, 20+ smaller maps,

    But once played, it does get repetitive, New maps are needed, more bigger, and better.

    But the game itself, is fantastic, its worth buying, Its very fun, and it does keep you entertained for quite a while, and keeps you on edge, its addictive, and very well made, I am glad i bought it.

    A Loyal Steam and Valve supporter.

    – Joe

  • 26. Mindwipe  |  January 17th, 2009 at 10:59 am

    at the end of the day ppl are whining about the poor quality of the game. however it isnt a first.

    take a look at two prime examples (out of the box that is)

    star trek legacy & fall out 3

    the being stoopid with comments and then theres researching ur subject matter before opeing ur mouth.

    from what im reading here. Many of you really need to look into the concept of expandable and DLC.

    over time im sure some good stuff will come of this game if not by the devs but certainly from the modding scene

  • 27. WorthWiiPoints  |  January 17th, 2009 at 11:16 am

    For most of the comments i have read on this were negative due to the fact people expected alot from something that is open sourced (meaning Mods and Add ons in Future months and weeks). if you know Source engine, or Vlave well, they made one thing Perfectly clear you Can Do it Yourself!(pc Gamers only really, sorry 360 gamers, you will just have to suck on eggs).

    On the note of this game seeming too short, that’s the point, you need to add content to the game. Pc moders, = More Content, problem Solved, the game just came out not too long ago. Here is the following related to the content going to be for Pc.

    Expect more of this type of stuff for future!, So please reconsider your posts with your assignments fairly on the game,

    The Gameplay is this, FPs zombie counter part to Gaunlet, think of the game as this

  • 28. Skelton  |  January 17th, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    @ 1 and 7.

    This game differs from every apocalypse and zombie based game out there due to one main reason. This game, no matter if you are Infected or Survivor, needs TEAMWORK. One survivor cannot go it alone just the same as one Hunter cannot take on a Team of survivors.

    If you find this game boring, repetitive and imbalanced you are not playing it correctly. You are not Rambo so do not run away from those “noob team mates” and expect to live. Despite being noobs they know how to stick together. Which makes them PLAYERS and you guys TARDS.

    Also for #1.

    The game is strongly based on online play. I am sorry you have no RL or even Internet friends but perhaps you should be a bit less of a dick? the game needs little to NO dialogue what so ever due to the fact that when in an online game you create your own. Whatever you do in that game will affect the outcome of the rest of the levels. If your team scraped by with almost no health after level 1 then in level 2 the director will place a few more items around and spawn slightly less zombies.

  • 29. rizoev75  |  January 17th, 2009 at 2:48 pm


  • 30. weaponlordzero  |  January 17th, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    L4D is one of the coolest games I’ve ever played. I have made several friends on it because you literally depend on who you’re playing with to survive. The environment is EXACTLY what it should be and if you take the time to stop whining and go through the commentary mode, you’ll see exactly how much attention to detail there really is. I know it’s DIFFERENT to have the server browser hidden, but in reality, if the system finds one for you with the lowest ping anyway… who cares? You didn’t buy the game to marvel at peoples’ servers anyway. I will say with no hesitation that L4D is up there with Team Fortress 2 ( I have yet to play Counter Strike) as the BEST multiplayer games out there you don’t have to pay a subscription or endure a long quest for IMHO. If you enjoy HUMAN players and true dependent team multiplayer sounds fun, this game is your new best friend.

  • 31. Kain  |  January 17th, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    This is an amazing game. I can’t get enough of playing versus, I’ve put more hours in this game then almost every other game I’ve ever purchased.

    @ post #1: Were you playing single player, on easy, by yourself or something?
    Cause repetitive and drab are probably two of the last words I’d use to describe the Versus mode with 7 other people. With good strategy and teamwork to stay alive this game is a blast….

    And story line… who needs much of a story line when the game is this fun…? I mean it’s the ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE, and you are four of the last remaining survivors!! What more story do you need?!?!?

  • 32. James  |  January 18th, 2009 at 1:03 am

    This game is really fun I dont find it repeditive at all because the maps are the same (4 different ones) but everytime you play different amounts of zombies come and from different directions they designed it this way… the people on the game also make it more fun because you can meet some really cool people that are really funny playing online. I think everyone should buy this game it’s just a must have.

  • 33. Eric  |  January 18th, 2009 at 2:58 am

    Well , left 4 dead , is the first game where you can play as human and zombie at the same time , with other players from all over the world , the action and the features in this game are perfectly . you think you are IN THE GAME , yes IN THE GAME , its awesome to play it with some other guys , or your friends maybe . 10 / 10********** , AWESOME!

  • 34. john  |  January 18th, 2009 at 4:29 am

    i think left for dead is a really good game best zombie one so far i think all they need to do is make more campaign levels n tht should be it i must admit there was some glitches in the game n here all getting sorted out by the looks of things make more maps plz

  • 35. Hanniball  |  January 18th, 2009 at 4:31 am

    I guess #1 just played the single player demo or what so ever. We normaly play full version with 8 peeps and this game rocks. Who needs a story, you just kill a bunch of zombies and you try to coordinate your actions with your friends playing along.

    This game just rocks if your with 4 friends in teamspeak and chasing your other 4 mates changing between hunters and zombies.

    So, I suggest, you grab yourself at least 3 other mates and get going.

    A hooray 4 left4dead.


  • 36. Marc  |  January 18th, 2009 at 6:39 am

    I’ve been playing Valve games since well pre-steam. When L4D was being made and trailers were released, I wasn’t at all impressed. I was thinking “AI, whatever”

    I played it on expert on LAN and almost smashed my keyboard. The game got ridiculously hard. 3-4 hours playing on one stage, with 3 other guys with years of FPS experience.

    I beat the game on Expert, took me a week of solid game play. School -> work -> l4d. Once I beat it I didn;t touch it for 2-3 weeks.

    Then I played versus. Now I’m an addict.

  • 37. Mitch  |  January 18th, 2009 at 11:22 am

    I’m not really a “gamer”, but I saw this game and decided to give it a go. I sometimes find the game boring after about an hours play – but giving myself a short break from it and I want to play it again!

    I like the way that you have to work with the other team members, and the way you have to run when a tank suddenly appears in front of you out of nowhere – while screaming your head off.

  • 38. Endangered Puma  |  January 18th, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    The game is over all great. I enjoyed singal player, multiplayer is better although I don’t think I will be able to enjoy it the same way I can enjoy Team Fortress 2 for about another year. Once more bugs are finished, once it has a more solid player base and until the Source mod is up for it (can’t wait to do custom campaigns) Although when TF2 came out I said around the same. Valves has succeeded to be my favorite game company because when they hit something right they keep it going. Wait about another year and see if all you naysayers still say it’s too repetitive or too many glitches….

  • 39. Knight Drako  |  January 18th, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Yes I have to Admit this game is boring…. when you play on Normal Level but when you play on Expert…. it will blow your mind away. Also playing on an Expert campaign (Blood Harvest was the biggest Pain!) expect to spend the entire night trying to beat it. You will feel alot better when you defeat it on expert and dont be suprise when the sun is up.

  • 40. tandivh  |  January 18th, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    My brother got this game 3 weeks ago.I thought it was some stupid zombie game until i played it and now i CANT STOP.

    Its so good of a game that i have nightmares!
    tho it dose get boring after a while.I think they should make more guns,a new charter,a new map or 2,and more zombies.

  • 41. Rick  |  January 18th, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    I have to say I’ve been playing L4D for the pc for about 7 weeks. I love the versus mode but they do need to add the Deathtoll and Dead Air maps to it. The infected you play are awesome and I like how you interact and work as a team to inflict hell upon the living and also work together to survive as the living. The campaigns on expert are unreal and pretty rough. I love the game and hope they come out with some fun new stuff to mess around with.

  • 42. cap10marvell  |  January 18th, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    I think L4D is a great game, and once I start work again in February, I plan on buying it for some of my friends (I have been laid off since October 9th).

    I have spoken with quite a few friends and most of them think Lewis looks a lot like the New US President Obama and we think it would be kind of cool if someone make a mod which changes Lewis name to President Obama.

  • 43. Critic  |  January 19th, 2009 at 12:45 am

    Well considering I got this game at a giant lan and played it with many different people along with my ‘friends’ I doubt that I have no friends…you dumbass 13 year old keyboard warriors.

    As I said I didn’t like it, although I might of enjoyed it more had the people I played it with been more coordinated, but for me it got boring quickly and I went back to counter strike. I hope the mods can make things more exciting but it shouldn’t be factored into a review, the review should be on the game we have in our hands now.

    Oh wow, also I wasn’t the only one that didn’t like it…many other the other people at the lan said the same thing!!!STFU children!

    sure its not as bad as a score of 3/10 but it shouldn’t get a 9 or 10…come on. I think probably a 7/10 would be a fair score.

    To everyone who took the time to reply sensibly I respect your opinions and take note of them.

  • 44. Ford  |  January 19th, 2009 at 4:17 am


  • 45. Cappaucino  |  January 19th, 2009 at 9:35 am

    I have been playing FPS for a while, last was Counter Strike 2. It got old, fast zzzz environments and gameplay, L4D kicks FPS into total awesomeness! When you play you really get into it, this game is far from repetitive!

  • 46. moonsorrows  |  January 19th, 2009 at 9:36 am

    i don’t really have much to say, death toll and dead air will be released as versus maps in the DLC coming soon and from what i hear they plan to release Xbox and PC DLC simultaniously. i’ve been playing almost religiously since christmas, co-op and VS. and i’ve found that the best counter to “cheap tactics” is plain and simple strategy!
    want a good game to play with friends? buy it.

  • 47. Matt  |  January 19th, 2009 at 11:02 am

    To anyone who says L4D has no story line, I say this:

    Explain the writing on the walls of safe rooms. Explain the dynamic dialogue between the survivor characters. Explain the effect of ambient lighting and the presence or lack of working entities in the world.

    The story is laid out through the environment and the interactions of the players/characters.

    Open your damn eyes.

  • 48. Sarcasmo  |  January 19th, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Play the game on expert difficulty and then tell me about how bad it sucks. Good luck getting past the first tank or witch.

    This game is immensely enjoyable because each time it’s a little bit different. Item placement and zombie placement are random. This game will tax your ability to play as a team, period. Especially on the tougher difficulties. If you can’t watch each other’s backs you will die.

  • 49. J  |  January 19th, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    left4dead is meant to be played multiplayer. You only get the full experience of Left4dead when you play it with three other people, screaming and freaking out. The human aspect of it increases the dull and boring single player mode by over 9000

  • 50. Rob  |  January 19th, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    Listen to me… Anyone i mean anyone that does not appreciate the content of this game should just give up gaming all together.. The games online experiance is def not top notch and will be fixed im sure soon enough, but as for the gut wrenching excitment when you get drug down a hole by a smoker and you know for that split second that you are helpless and accually need someone elses help.. Is absolutly awsome.. There has not been a game with that kind of intense gameplay since Resident Evil II…

  • 51. lol  |  January 19th, 2009 at 10:32 pm


  • 52. Xelm  |  January 20th, 2009 at 1:53 am

    All i got to say is that Left 4 Dead is a great game but i wish there were more maps to play, I have finished all the maps by now and even while the zombies spawn on random points it getting a bit boring to keep walking to the same ways, I heard they are making new maps so i hope they come soon. I would suggest to buy the game.

  • 53. wolly  |  January 20th, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    I bought L4D about a week ago…randomly saw it and thought it looked cool. This game ended up being one of the best games ive played yet. You cannot servive alone which makes me so happy. I always wanted a game that you have to work together, to many people out there that think they can just do it on their own. I really love the vote kick, I havnt played much steam games so im not sure if it is offered on others. I played counterstrike source for a while and I love how they used the same weapons engine…. Like how almost every one else said, ITS AN AWSOME GAME!

    PS. I think the ones that dont like it either lack hand eye cordination or this game scares them to much 😛

  • 54. READ THIS  |  January 20th, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    This games gameplay is pretty repetitive, and after a few weeks the novelty wears off. Just wait for DLC, then you will fully enjoy this game.
    inb4 THE GAME IS TEH AWESOEM!!!111

    I like the game, and it’s a good game; orig, fun, co-op, and like that one poster said “you can’t all be Rambos”, it just needs MORE.

  • 55. RedMist  |  January 20th, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    @ #1

    OMG you play the single player campaign, then say the game is ‘boring’ BEFORE playing it online?! You dumbf**k, this game was made for multiplayer campaigns – its fun! Keep your lame opinions to yourself in the future, a**hole!

  • 56. Swill  |  January 21st, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    If you want to set up a server to play the other campaigns versus, check out this blog entry. It’s pretty easy and just requires you having your own server.

  • 57. Eddie  |  January 21st, 2009 at 10:54 pm


  • 58. Initialised  |  January 25th, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    It is possible to play Dead Air & Death Toll in Versus just download the map pack.

    Instructions and links here: They’re not great yet and need some tweaking before official release.

    If you dive straight into Versus you will find it unbalanced because you wont know what you are doing and will ruin it FOR THE WHOLE TEAM. Play the campaigns in SP on easy, then normal, once you can get through them start playing on-line campaigns once you can do advanced in less than an hour or complete a campaign on expert you are ready for versus. In general if the game feels unbalanced it is probably because the teams are.

  • 59. Sesne  |  January 27th, 2009 at 8:28 am

    lol @ 55. RedMist

    He never said he played the single player first, open you eyes, your the dumbfuck…and asshole..OMG! what a faggot moron..
    go screw chicargo ted.

  • 60. Hank  |  February 4th, 2009 at 1:36 am

    The zombie horde just attacked and consumed my comment section. Thank you Steam!

  • 61. zz  |  August 6th, 2009 at 5:35 am

    i play l4d before but now is spoiled……im so sad i so love left 4 dead…….i wan play BACK L4D

  • 62. Jaycob  |  November 2nd, 2009 at 11:33 am

    lol well to all you fans have at’ er but to anyone who plans to buy this don’t bother like the first guy said its the same exact thing beginning to end online or off you play it for a hour and you’ve repeated the exact same button combination’s probably over 1000 times and anyone who says otherwise is a dirty rotten liar and will get cancer for their deception

  • 63. kurtis  |  October 26th, 2010 at 2:38 am

    i want to watch the film of it :putnam:

  • 64. Huntdog  |  November 30th, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    I own the game, and I like the co-op mode. I play Left 4 Dead whenever I get bored. I usually find tanks in the same spots every time I play, and that’s what makes it so boring.

Leave a Comment

(Open to all. Comments can and will be censored at whim and without warning.)


Required, hidden

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed