Vanity Fair profiles The eXile: "Gutsy...visceral...serious journalism...abusive, defamatory...poignant...paranoid...and right!"
MSNBC: Mark Ames and Yasha Levine
Broke the Koch Brothers' Takeover of America
Entertainment / Video Games / March 26, 2009


Amazon, Ebay and Britain all just banned the Japanese rape simulator Rapelay. Politicians and other preening crusading blowhards publicly decried it, thereby popularizing it. After .07 seconds of investigation, I found the game and had it running in an hour. The torrents are hugely popular due to the publicity. Whoops! Good job promoting rape, there, critics! You’re like the PR geniuses who send legal threats to poor, pissed off, professedly pathologically spiteful writers.

Rape ain’t my thing, but a game where you can force pregnant women to have abortions? I’d have to check out something this fucked up.

This game is big in Japan. Probably something to do with that unique Japanese culture of sexual moderation and rigid, moral social behavior, submission to authority. Sexually-repressed cultures have the sleaziest, most taboo-violating pornographic fantasies. Open a Victorian porn novel to any random page and you’ll find some of the sickest shit ever. Example: a man and his brother orgy with their pregnant aunt and mother, all narrated in that quaint Dickens tone. Fruits of long bookstore-employment.

Anyway, I installed Rapelay with an open mind, having never played a Hentai game. I had read all about them, however, in the great, if gaijin-judgmental reviews over at Rapelay isn’t the worst of the bunch, check out Water Closet.

Rapelay is horribly designed, but rape fans will ride the learning curve. Must’ve been programmed by nerdy Japanese IT guys, the kind with math and science intelligence, but user interface retardation. Common problem in the industry. See the game-script atrocities guys good at shader rendering have been inflicting on the world for twenty years. The Rapelay team could have streamlined the controls into one big “rape” button, more or less, but everything is as non-intuitive, difficult and boring as possible. You’ll be trapped rapeless at several points, just bewildered by the controls.

So there’s a mother and her two daughters. You have to stalk, molest and rape them one by one. There’s no pretense of goodness in your rape avatar. He boasts he can rape who he likes since he has a powerful father. He’s not even a lecherous weirdo, he dresses like a dude from a frat bar. He’s the enemy of sweaty nerds everywhere.

You start on a train platform, where you can rotate the camera around the future rape-ee. The girls are pretty, and the graphics are well-done. Then you get onto the train car. Once inside, you will discover just how boring a game about rape can be, as the endless groping and molesting begins, and the arousal meter climbs infinitesimally. It’d be nice if you could molest her into consensual intercourse—the fantasy of every guy who masturbates in the back of the bus—but that’s the gaijin in me.

One thing you have to give to the game designers, there’s something about the rhythmic, repetitive mouse movements that uniquely reminds you of heavy petting. It could count as a pornographic advancement, but I’m sure another Hentai game pioneered it. In Rapelay, it’s like heavy petting with a girl who’s “never had an orgasm,” an endless attempt at stimulation that’ll remind you of high school, in her Dad’s car.

After molesting the girl on the train for fifteen minutes, bored as hell by the looped audio, I realized my laptop mouse-equivalent wasn’t sensitive enough, and plugged in a real mouse. This did the trick, and five minutes later, I was into the rape, classily-enough in a public restroom stall. Once again, there’s an arousal meter. You can rotate the camera, take off articles of her clothing, and choose between anal and vaginal insertion. Pretty sick.

The victims in Rapelay mewl so irritatingly that I couldn’t wait to get to the even more insulting part where “she starts to enjoy it,” if only because it would end the squeals. But it’s just an endless, hideous sobbing from the poor girls, with looped audio clips that must translate to “please no.” That’s the point–the guys who like this game get off on the nonstop squealing and protestations. What the fuck is wrong with you Japanese rape-fantasy guys, you can’t even have these girls begin to enjoy the rape? That’s sickness to the second power.

But eventually, if you have Japanese patience, you do get to the part where the rape victims start to enjoy it. I’m given to understand after you rape each member of the family, there’s an RPG system where you can turn each of them into a sex slave, get ‘em pregnant, abort the pregnancies and so forth, force lesbian sex and so on. Insanely detailed stats are kept, like how many times you came inside them, etc. Pretty cool simulation, if you ask me. Keeping precise records of your conquests; that’s what serial rapist maniacs are all about.

Anyway, I couldn’t take it. I cut out early, about halfway into the third groping scene. It was just too damn boring. And to master it would require Fallout-level dedication. But if this sounds like your thing, you’ll know.

Read more: , , , Rick Rucker, Entertainment, Video Games

Got something to say to us? Then send us a letter.

Want us to stick around? Donate to The eXiled.

Twitter twerps can follow us at


Add your own

  • 1. JimmyHatten  |  March 26th, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    So, is a prison expansion pack going to be released for this anytime soon?

  • 2. rapeymcgee  |  March 26th, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    you forgot to mention that the first girl you molest/rape is a 13 year old.

  • 3. kingkong  |  March 27th, 2009 at 4:55 am

    Japanese culture is not sexual repressed. It is much less so than American culture. They’re just weird, end of story.

  • 4. FlamingoHotelLaughlin  |  March 27th, 2009 at 6:56 am

    Wow…. Rape simulation!!! wtf

  • 5. FLFantasy5  |  March 27th, 2009 at 7:22 am

    Those games are so popular in those countries.

  • 6. JM  |  March 27th, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Anyone else curious about Water Closet, click it, and have a pdf automatically dl to your hd?

  • 7. JM  |  March 27th, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Update: Looks like some viruses come along with that link. Removing 3 right now.

  • 8. b_traven  |  March 27th, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    cool i just gave you guys $25 for the exiledonline. sorry if i had more i’d give it, but you guys really rock. sell t-shirts. whatever you do don’t ask nick denton how blogs work – hint: it’s not faggy bitchy lame 90s snark. you guys at least have serious meat behind it. although i’m pretty faggy myself and don’t like too much serious stuff, sometimes what you write makes me think and i’d rather sneer. i look in the mirror and don’t like what i see. i read my comment and hate myself.

  • 9. Alex  |  March 28th, 2009 at 2:31 am

    @rapeymcgee: The age of consent in Japan is actually 13. Which makes sense when you consider that most of their girls basically look like they’re 13 anyway, until they turn 40 or so.

  • 10. Carpenter  |  March 28th, 2009 at 7:56 am

    I would comment, but Jimmy Hatten won the thread with the first post. =)

  • 11. Plamen Petkov  |  March 28th, 2009 at 9:07 am

    I wonder if 4chan knows about this game already…

  • 12. Nestor  |  March 28th, 2009 at 11:44 am

    Well like you said something awful already did this… ages ago. I’m not really feeling these game reviews in what used to be a fairly dedicated to politics website, but hey, whatever gets you search engine traffic.

  • 13. Anonymous  |  March 28th, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    This topic makes for a reasonably compelling and horrifying train wreck, but I think you’d do better just to explain what a hentai game is and then post a link to the January 25, 2007 Something Awful review. One English language hentai game review site on the internet is plenty.

  • 14. sansculotte  |  March 29th, 2009 at 8:28 am

    Hey, just want you to know that I did my duty and donated, you guys rock

  • 15. Rick  |  March 29th, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Zack Parsons is better than me at reviewing Hentai games, which is why we link to him. Twice. So stop being annoying Internet bitches, and cough up some money, since Zack Parsons doesn’t do war reviewing as well as Gary Brecher, or everything reviewing as well as the rest of the staff. That’s like the only other talented person on the Internet, we link to him, because he’s the only other talented person on the Internet, we gotta hear bullshit. Fuck you.

  • 16. aleke  |  March 29th, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    I’ve read Something Awful for many years, and my absolute favorite is probably Today We Learn English lessons written by David Thorpe:

    Check them out

  • 17. aleke  |  March 30th, 2009 at 1:18 am

    oh, right, forgot about this one

  • 18. Anonymous  |  March 31st, 2009 at 1:28 am

    Yeah, the exile’s war and political reporting are the best online, and I did subscribe the first day I saw you guys had posted a solicitation.

  • 19. BorgataHotelAtlanticCityNJ  |  March 31st, 2009 at 9:44 am

    You have to be kidding me…

  • 20. ewank  |  April 1st, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    i wonder who the playtesters where for this game.

  • 21. Shadow  |  April 4th, 2009 at 11:21 am

    I think it a great idea… I wouldn’t play it but people who are into stalking and rapeing can ease “tension” with the game and not go out and do it for real

  • 22. sidekickinthebutt  |  April 10th, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    What’s up with this sexually-repressed-submission-to-authority crap that so-called “journalists” seem to love when talking about the Japanese?

    I lived in that country for three years, and I saw none or very little of that. In fact, it’s much more sexually open than the US has ever been, which should be obvious if you’ve been to that country and stayed there just for a couple of days. And the “submission to authority” part is clearly overstated, too. I didn’t think it was that bad when I was there.

    Anyway, I think it’s just laziness on journo’s part.

  • 23. M  |  May 8th, 2009 at 7:34 pm


  • 24. Ringostarz  |  June 29th, 2009 at 9:12 am

    In the first place, why did such company allowed a game to be released? Didn’t they even bothered to think that this will affect them as well? It really depends on us adults how to train our kids when it comes to video games. However, video companies should be responsbile to.o. hen I read this article:
    I was given a new outlook towards video games. It’s really interesting to think that video games have good effects as well.

  • 25. nampa1  |  May 16th, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    Japan is actually the most sexually liberated country I’ve been to (never been to Europe accept for obligatory back packing trip). It’s a shame culture, so they hide it and never admit it, but it supports my theory of the USA being the most uptight place outside the Mid-East. I think this game is a reflection of that. Sexuality can be odd, since every facet of sexuality is served in Japan’s sex industry (largest in the world, 7-10% GDP, you get some of the darker side. I don’t purport to really know Japan. It is very secretive. I’ve heard of sexual rigidity, but I’ve seen great sexual activity too.

  • 26. lintang  |  August 20th, 2010 at 5:14 am

    i like this

  • 27. Annonymos  |  July 14th, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    This is fucking sick, how could anyone enjoy something like this. Whoever likes this nasty shit is a sick fuck and deserves to burn in hell! Japanese men are disgusting pencil dick bastards that can’t get it willingly! And btw, theres always going to be rape…no fucking video game will help stop someone from doing it forreal so that comment didn’t make any sense at all.

  • 28. Nikia  |  October 1st, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    This is the most disturbing game I have EVER heard of. When is it EVER ok to rape somebody whether it is virtual or not!!!! I hope more places start to ban this game!!!

  • 29. kimy  |  November 13th, 2011 at 4:45 am

    Thank God…..who created this game….ENJOY…

  • 30. egg noggerton  |  November 27th, 2011 at 11:19 am

    “Politicians other preening crusading blowhards”

    so, Something Awful.

  • 31. Kate  |  October 2nd, 2012 at 10:00 am

    Sounds like the reviewer enjoyed this game a little too much. “….you can’t even have them enjoy the rape? That is sick to the second power.” This is disgusting. How can you call this journalism?

Leave a Comment

(Open to all. Comments can and will be censored at whim and without warning.)


Required, hidden

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed